Top of the Pops (My Top Ten) by @gbhaining

Gladys H 1This blog is to celebrate the fact that after twenty seven years I have taken the life changing decision to retire from NHS Dumfries and Galloway. I have had the honour and privilege of being the Alzheimer Scotland Dementia Nurse Consultant for the past two and a half years.

This is an effort to describe some of the work undertaken during my time as nurse consultant and I had an idea that I’d try to link it to popular songs thus the rather dated Top of the Pops theme.

I must say that I’ve gone with the titles in the hope that some of the lyrics reflect my comments.

So let’s begin. 

  1. Another Brick in the Wall (Pink Floyd). I was delighted to be appointed as Alzheimer Scotland Dementia Nurse Consultant for NHS Dumfries and Galloway in December 2012. This was a new post and with the support of others I pretty much developed and evolved the post in keeping with the national standards, strategies and drivers. I believe I have built the foundations required to take this agenda forward.

 

  1. We are the Champions (Queen). In the past two and a half years I have had the absolute privilege of leading and supporting Dumfries and Galloway’s Dementia Champions. I have to say they work extremely hard advocating the best care for people with dementia when they have to be admitted to our acute and community hospitals. This is one of the pieces of work that I am extremely proud of and I want to thank each and every one of them for being so motivated, enthusiastic and most of all for engaging with me.

 

  1. Long and Winding Road (The Beatles).This journey has been challenging however I have built up some excellent professional relationships. I have flown the flag for dementia and I truly believe there is a far greater understanding of the needs of this group of people. I believe we have turned some of the corners and I’m sure as an organisation we will continue to do so.

 

  1. Feeling Good (Nina Simone).I think that there is a great willingness to work together to make services person centred and to deliver care at the right time and in the right place. This fills me with pride and optimism.

 Gladys H 2

  1. Funny How Time Slips Away (Willie Nelson).Personally it feels like yesterday I was starting my nurse training and trying to figure out how to put my nurses’ hat together! I’ve had a fantastic career and learnt so much over the years. I’ve worked with some fantastic people who’ve encouraged, nurtured and seen my potential. That’s something I will be eternally grateful for. We all need to do this and help people develop and reach their maximum potential.

 

  1. 9-5 (Dolly Parton). Although it should read 8.30am – 5pm there will be no more “Working 9-5” for me!

 

  1. 40 Hour Week (Alabama). Time now to rest, relax and enjoy my family life, catch up with friends and find time for all those things I’ve always put off.

 

  1. It’s Five o’clock somewhere (Alan Jackson and Jimmy Buffet). Self explanatory I think!

 

  1. When All Is Said and Done (ABBA).I hope that I have left the beginnings of a legacy for people living with dementia, their families and carers and that they will recognise a change as this work continues. We never know the time when we, our families and friends will require services and I’m sure we will continue to strive to deliver the best standards of care for all our citizens.

AND NUMBER ONE THIS WEEK IS !!!!!!

 

  1. So Long, Farewell (Rogers and Hammerstein – The Sound of Music).I officially retire on the 28th August. I wish all my colleagues and friends well and want to say thank you so much for everything!!

Gladys H 3Gladys Haining is an Alzheimer Scotland Dementia Nurse Consultant for NHS Dumfries and Galloway.

 

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Top of the Pops (My Top Ten) by @gbhaining

  1. what a great way to reflect Gladys….. you will be a hard act to follow as you have set the pace, tone and standard for others.
    by the way – I remember struggling with the hat too!

  2. Enjoy your retirement Gladys and rest asssured that your legacy will continue out here in Stewartry locality. Best wishes

  3. Fantastic blog Gladys!
    I’m counting down with you as you’ll be a huge loss to me as a colleague and sounding board! I for one will do my best to ensure all your hard work continues to be developed

  4. A lovely blog Gladys, and so pleased to see you song choices are from an era I also relate too all too well!! Sorry to be losing such a wonderful colleague, its been a blast over the years.! However, I’m confident that our prosecco nights will continue into the distant future…In the words of “Smashy and Nicey” – lets’ rock!!

  5. My song in reply to your blog ‘friend ‘ is “I’ll be missin’ you: I can’t believe this shit, Can’t believe you ain’t here”. ( apologies for language) I still laugh about our first meeting in stirling, both early , both outside pre meet, both embarrassed, then firm friends:-)
    ……I wish you well for your retirement, see you online! Mhairi x

  6. Gladys,
    I missed this one when I was on holiday so catching iup with it now – I love this idea! I have had the priveledge of working with you over the last few years and I have really enjoyed watching the role grow into what it is now. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

